Elridge McMillan, the longest-serving member of the Board of Regents for the University System of Georgia, was the inaugural recipient of the University System of Georgia Foundation Board of Trustees’ Lifetime Achievement Award. In recognition for Regent Emeritus McMillan’s long career serving higher education, the award was officially named The Elridge McMillan Lifetime Achievement Award in 2004. The award is given in recognition of extraordinary service to higher education in Georgia.  

Spirit and Purpose of the Award

The McMillan Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by the University System of Georgia Foundation, was established to recognize extraordinary service to higher education in Georgia.  The award is presented to an individual or couple who has demonstrated a long and significant record of commitment and accomplishment on behalf of higher education in Georgia.  


To be selected for the Lifetime Achievement Award, nominees must be a person of such integrity, stature, and proven ability that the faculty, staff, students and alumni of the University System of Georgia will take pride in and be inspired by their recognition. Nominees need not be graduates of an institution in the University System of Georgia, but must demonstrate a love for and commitment to higher education in Georgia that inspires others.   The following shall not normally be considered for the McMillan Lifetime Achievement Award:

  • An active member of the Governing Boards, Faculty, or Staff of the University System of Georgia
  • A deceased person

Here is a list of past award receipients selected. EMLA_Award_winner_list20.pdf

Award Presentation

The USG Foundation Board is committed to celebrate the 2020 McMillan award recipient in a manner that upholds the grandeur of the Black Tie Gala while maintaining proper health guidelines. We are working to adjust plans for the gala this year and look forward to sharing more details at a later date.

LifeTime Recognition

The University System of Georgia Foundation will make a gift of $30,000 to a University System of Georgia Institution in honor of the Eldridge McMillan Lifetime Achievement Award recipient.  The award recipient is invited to designate the funds to an institution of their choice and the funds will be directed towards needs-based scholarships for students.   


Nominations may be made by any of the following: 

  • Any alumni or friend of the institutions in the University System of Georgia
  • University System of Georgia faculty or staff
  • Members of Governing Boards for the University System of Georgia 

Nominations will be considered for three years. If the nominator chooses, he/she may submit a new nomination packet to re-nominate the candidate after the original nomination period expires.  

Nominations should include:

  • The completed nomination form

Optional: Nominations may include up to three letters of recommendations detailing how the nominee fulfills one or more of the criteria listed above and a resume and/or other biographical information.

Please complete the Nomination form which will be forwarded to the University System of Georgia Foundation.

Nominations for the February 2021 award will close on September 1, 2020. Only completed nominations received by the due date will be considered. Nominations received after September 1, 2020 will be evaluated in the 2022 cycle.

Award_nomination_form.pdf version of the nomination is also available and upon completion may be mailed or emailed to:

McMillan Lifetime Achievement Award
University System of Georgia Foundation
Attn:  Karen McCauley
Vice Chancellor of Development
270 Washington Street, SW, Suite 7002
Atlanta, Georgia 30334  

For questions, please call Karen McCauley at 404-962-3056.